Skip to content

The struggles of co-parenting

September 27, 2013

Emma is now eight years old and you would think by now co-parenting with her father would come easy right? Well, the answer to that is a big fat NO!

It has always been a struggle for us to get along and communicate. In a perfect world I would love nothing more to have a wonderful relationship with him for Emma’s sake.

I have to be honest, the hardest part for me is letting go of the she is MY DAUGHTER and I will make the rules no matter what. I hold a lot of resentment towards him for things that have happened in the past…

Nick and I have a marriage of commitment and respect for each other that centers around compromise when it comes to parenting. And that is how it should be! I have found that co-parenting with Emma’s dad is very difficult beacuse I struggle to respect or trust him with her future.  We both have different opinions and convictions on what is right, healthy, “normal” and what is not. This can make for some pretty heated debates about the passion both people feel for their side of spectrum. 

How am I expected to support him being a part of her life when he is standing against my every grain in my efforts to raise a healthy child? I try so hard to make the right decisions when it comes to her and always make sure she has a chance to have a good relationship with her father.

I think a lot of that is because I don’t have a relationship with my own dad, so for me, I would hate for Emma to go through that pain like I have. People tell me one day she will see all I have done for her and realize that I was doing the best I could in every situation. That’s all great, but what about right now?

All I can do is pray that eventually things will get better. And continue to be the best parent I can be.

image

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

